IPL Nomenclature

April 27, 2009

Gideon Haigh has a rant on Cricinfo about Citi Moments of Success and DLF Maximums. (via Udups on Twitter).

Rather than just complain I think we as viewers should empower ourselves by giving our own names to boundaries. I propose the following names for fours and sixes for each of the teams:

  • A four hit by the Daredevils will be called a Rashtrapati Bhavan and a six will be called Chandni Chowk
  • For the Mumbai Indians, Girgaon and Malabar Hill
  • Royal Challengers: Basavangudi and JC Nagar
  • Super Kings: Luz Church Road and Cathedral
  • Chargers: Khairatabad and Karuwansahu
  • Knight Riders: Shyambazar and Beadon Street
  • Royals: Arjunlal Sethi Nagar and Bani Park
  • Tragically, the Kings XI do not have any special names under this nomenclature system

Admittedly, “What a magnificent Luz Church Road by Hayden” is a bit of a mouthful, and Chandni Chowk can be confused with chauka, but I think this is a small price to pay for sticking it to Lalit Modi (who incidentally has started reminding me of Cut-Me-Own-Throat Dibbler).

(In case you didn’t get it – pssst.)

What Happened to Republicanism?

May 31, 2008

No matter what the outcome of tonight’s semi-final is, the final will be an all monarch affair. The Rajasthan Royals will go up against one form of Kings or the other (though I’m hoping it’s the Super variety).

Is it to much to hope for a team named the Punjab Parliamentarians or the Sennai Strict Constitutionalists?